The company Les films du Worso was created in 2003 by Sylvie Pialat, after 21 years together with Maurice Pialat, whom she accompanied on his last 5 films. She is notably credited with the screenplay of Police and Van Gogh and signed the adaptation of Georges Bernanos' novel Sous le soleil de Satan (Palme d'Or at Cannes in 1987). She also worked hand in hand with Daniel Toscan du Plantier on the production of her husband's films.

After fifteen years in business, Les films du Worso has produced some forty feature films for the cinema and has worked with directors from all over the world, such as Nicolas Boukhrief, Alain Guiraudie, Guillaume Nicloux, Julie Gravras, Joachim Lafosse, Abderrahmane Sissako, Cédric Kahn, Xavier Beauvois, Gustave Kervern and Benoît Delépine, as well as Amos Gitaï and Corneliu Porumboiu.

14 films have been selected for the Cannes Film Festival and the catalogue has received 28 César nominations (including 10 awards) and a nomination for the Oscar for Best International Film in 2015 with Timbuktu

Fuelled by energy and desire, the company has grown and diversified since its creation with a team marked by a family spirit. Benoît Quainon joined Les films du Worso in 2006 and has been an associate producer since 2015. Alejandro Arenas joined the team in 2012, he is now in charge of international projects and is an associate partner producer since 2021. The production of short films, entrusted to Toufik Ayadi and Christophe Barral from 2010 to 2017, is now managed by Solène Caron and Hilaire Perthuis.


Sylvie Pialat has been awarded the Daniel Toscan du Plantier Prize for the best producer of the year (in 2014 and 2015) by the Académie des Arts et Techniques du Cinéma (César) two years running. In 2015, she presided over the Jury of the Les Arcs European Film Festival. In 2018, she was President of the Queer Palm Jury at the 71st Cannes Film Festival. Since 2018 she is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (Oscars).

La société Les films du Worso a été créée en 2003 par Sylvie Pialat, après 21 ans de vie commune avec Maurice Pialat qu’elle a accompagné sur ses 5 derniers films. Elle est notamment créditée au scénario de Police et de Van Gogh et a signé l’adaptation du roman de Georges Bernanos Sous le soleil de Satan (Palme d’Or à Cannes en 1987). Elle a aussi travaillé main dans la main avec Daniel Toscan du Plantier sur la production des films de son mari.

 

Après une quinzaine d’années d’exercice, Les films du Worso compte à son actif la production d’une quarantaine de longs métrages pour le cinéma et a accompagné des réalisateurs du monde entier, tels que Nicolas Boukhrief, Alain Guiraudie, Guillaume Nicloux, Julie Gravras, Joachim Lafosse, Abderrahmane Sissako, Cédric Kahn, Xavier Beauvois, Gustave Kervern et Benoît Delépine ou encore Amos Gitaï et Corneliu Porumboiu.

14 films figurent dans les sélections du Festival de Cannes et le catalogue cumule 28 nominations aux César (dont 10 récompenses) et une nomination pour l’Oscar du Meilleur film international en 2015 avec TIMBUKTU. 

 

Nourrie d'énergie et de désir, la société s’est développée et diversifiée depuis sa création avec une équipe marquée par un esprit de famille. Benoît Quainon a rejoint Les films du Worso en 2006, il est producteur associé depuis 2015. Alejandro Arenas a intégré l’équipe en 2012, il est aujourd’hui en charge des projets internationaux et associé depuis 2021. La production des courts métrages, confiée à Toufik Ayadi et Christophe Barral de 2010 à 2017, est à présent pilotée par Solène Caron et Hilaire Perthuis.

Sylvie Pialat a été distinguée, deux années consécutives, par l’Académie des Arts et Techniques du Cinéma (César) avec le Prix Daniel Toscan du Plantier récompensant le meilleur producteur de l’année (en 2014 et 2015). En 2015 elle préside le jury des longs métrages du Festival de cinéma européen des Arcs. En 2018, elle est présidente du jury de la Queer Palm lors du 71ème festival de Cannes. Depuis 2018 elle est membre de l’Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (Oscars).